Stories for Under the Stars// This Week On Our Shelf Life

The Passed Note meanders around the Internet every week to find all things YA so you don’t have to. That’s right, the very best in young adult is conveniently placed here. This week, we rounded up villains, retellings, poetry, and stories pushing the boundaries of the young adult canon. 

Young Adult Literature

We think these findings with help make the perfect bookworm summer.  A Court of Mist and Fury, Sarah J. Maas’ recent mash-up of Scottish ballad “Tamlin” and “Beauty and the Beast” has us craving more fairytale reimaginings. The folks at Epic Reads put together this wonderfully categorized list of 162 Young Adult retellings. (They’ll also keep updating this link, so be sure to check back!)

Since we are already talking about retellings, we are interested in Lexa Hillyer’s forthcoming Spindle Fire, a retelling of Sleeping Beauty. Caitlin White at Bustle has an exclusive sneak peak. Fans of  Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo–this one is for you. 

Out Magazine’s Benjamin Lindsay interviewed Nina LaCour and David Levithan about their cowritten book You Know Me Well. Of the book, Lindsey writes “Told in alternating points of view between Kate (written by LaCour) and Mark (written by Levithan), You Know Me Well marks a first of its kind within the LGBT YA canon, while also remaining a touching, funny, and emotionally resonant read for audiences of all identities and ages.” We are excited for this expansion in YA. 

Just like we crave sweet fruit and ice cream, we love when YA pushes expectations. This is certainly the case with Sarah Crossan’s One. She recently became the first author to win the Carnegie Medal for a novel written in free verse. 

Stargazing and firefly catching are some of our favorite summertime activities. Of course, the night is good for more chilling stories too. If you are in need of a creepy villain, we highly recommend Penguin Teen’s 9 YA Villains More Terrifying Than Whatever’s Hiding In Your Closet. Bonus points if you read these books around a campfire with friends.

Don’t forget to take The Passed Note with you on your summer adventures. Our first issue is live!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *